

# **Elgin County Council**

#### **Minutes**

#### **Annual Warden's Election**

December 10, 2024, 7:00 p.m. Council Chambers 450 Sunset Drive St. Thomas ON

Members Present: Councillor Ed Ketchabaw

Councillor Grant Jones

Councillor Dominique Giguère

Councillor Mark Widner
Councillor Jack Couckuyt
Councillor Todd Noble
Councillor Mike Hentz
Councillor Richard Leatham

Members Absent: Councillor Andrew Sloan (with notice)

Staff Present: Blaine Parkin, Chief Administrative Officer/Clerk

Brian Masschaele, Director of Community & Cultural Services

Amy Thomson, Director of Human Resources

Michele Harris, Director of Homes and Seniors Services Jennifer Ford, Director of Financial Services/Treasurer

Nicholas Loeb, Director of Legal Services Peter Dutchak, Director of Engineering Services Mat Vaughan, Director of Planning and Development

Carolyn Krahn, Manager of Economic Development, Tourism &

Strategic Initiatives

Andrea Loughlean, Manager of Emergency Management &

Elgin-Middlesex Regional Fire School Alexis Leitch, Manager of Financial Services Katherine Thompson, Manager of Administrative

Services/Deputy Clerk

Jenna Fentie, Legislative Services Coordinator Stefanie Heide, Legislative Services Coordinator

#### 1. CALL TO ORDER

The Council of the County of Elgin met this 10th day of December, 2024 at 7:01 p.m. The Chief Administrative Officer/Clerk presided as Chair of the meeting in accordance with Council's Procedural By-Law No. 19-41, as amended by By-Law No. 24-40.

## 2. ELECTION OF WARDEN

The Chief Administrative Officer/Clerk asked Members of Council wishing to run for the Office of the Warden to stand. Councillor Jones and Councillor Widner offered their candidacy for the position of Elgin County Warden for 2025.

Each candidate was offered the opportunity to address Council for up to five minutes.

Voting was done by secret ballot and ballots were counted by the Chief Administrative Officer/Clerk in the presence of Rob Foster from Graham Scott

Enns who had been appointed by the Chief Administrative Officer/Clerk as scrutineer.

The Chief Administrative Officer/Clerk announced that the 2025 Elgin County Warden is Councillor Jones.

## 3. ADMINISTERING AND SIGNING OF DECLARATION OF OFFICE

Warden Jones took the *Declaration of Office* administered by the Chief Administrative Officer/Clerk.

## 4. GOWNING

The Warden was gowned, and the Chief Administrative Officer/Clerk presented the 2025 Warden to Council.

The Chief Administrative Officer/Clerk announced Councillor Ketchabaw as the 2025 Deputy Warden.

### 5. PRESENTATION BY PAST WARDEN

The Warden was officially presented with the Chain of Office, the Lord Elgin Watch, and the Gavel of Office by 2023/24 Elgin County Warden Ed Ketchabaw.

### 6. WARDEN'S ADDRESS

Warden Jones delivered his Inaugural Address to Council.

## 7. RESOLUTION TO DESTROY THE BALLOTS (if required)

Moved by: Councillor Ketchabaw Seconded by: Councillor Noble

RESOLVED THAT Council direct the Chief Administrative Officer/Clerk destroy ballots in accordance with section 9(f)(xi) of Procedural By-Law No. 19-41, as amended by By-Law No. 24-40.

Motion Carried.

#### 8. RECESS

Moved by: Councillor Giguère Seconded by: Councillor Widner

RESOLVED THAT Council recess at 7:34 p.m. and reconvene at 9:00 a.m. on December 12, 2024.

Motion Carried.		
Blaine Parkin,	Grant Jones,	
Chief Administrative Officer/Clerk	Warden	
omor rammonauvo omoon olom	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	